Home / Governance


Triangle Charter Education Association


The Triangle Charter Education Association (TCEA) is a North Carolina not-for-profit entity organized exclusively for educational purposes and is comprised of respected leaders in the state of North Carolina that are committed to providing high quality educational options for the citizens of this State. TCEA is the Founding Board for Cardinal Charter Academy.

For more information, or if you have any questions, please email us.

The Board of Directors is responsible for developing and outlining the mission, vision, and values of the school and developing the appropriate policies to ensure those fundamentals are maintained. The Triangle Charter Education Association Board of Directors has contracted with a professional education management organization, Charter Schools USA, to provide all necessary management and professional expertise. Charter Schools USA assists in developing, planning, and marketing the School, as well as finance, human resources, curricula and school operations. Charter Schools USA is responsible for developing and implementing the ongoing operational procedures in accordance with the mission, vision, and values outlined by the Governing Board.

The Governing Board is responsible for the legal and financial obligations of each school. The Governing Board establishes policy consistent with the school’s mission and ensures the school’s programs and operations are faithful to the terms of the Charter including compliance with statutory and regulatory requirements. The Governing Board will continue to uphold the mission and vision of the school through visible leadership and stewardship of the school, including the following:

  • Communicating the mission and vision of the school to the community
  • Recruiting and mentoring Governing Council members to ensure they have shared values
  • Holding Charter Schools USA accountable to achieving the mission and vision of the school
  • Participating in fund raising and other community events on behalf of the school
  • Leading by example in their personal and professional endeavors

Board Members

  • Allen Taylor, President
  • Elaine Shamel, Vice President
  • Drew Baumgartner, Treasurer
  • Megan Christie, Secretary
  • Lee Teague, Director
  • Alex Krawchick, Director

To contact the board members, please email info@Triangleboard1@gmail.com

For accessibility assistance with the pdfs below, please contact the school.

Annual Budget

2017-18 Budget Final (pdf)

Annual Audit

Annual Audit 2017 (pdf)

Academic Performance

School Grade Accountability Report: NC Public School Report Cards

Title 1 Parent and Family Engagement Policy (pdf)